Posted in Uncategorized

I’ve Been Working……

rail road working

I’ve been working on the railroad! Remember that song? I bet you are singing it right now. Actually, I’ve not been working on a railroad, I’ve been working on my new picture book idea. 32 pages of inspiration. Well, that’s how many pages I am suppose to have, but I don’t. My word document tells me I have 14. Not only that, for a picture book, the standard word count for young readers is 1,000 words. I have 1, 424. which means I have to do some cutting. Right now, I have a dummy document going on as I set my images in place. However, that needs worked on too. Oh well, at least it is written and getting formatted. But I must say, it hurts me to my heart to think of cutting out some of the text…maybe I won’t do it. After all, it is my book. But I have to turn 14 pages into 32, no more than 48 at the most. With that said, that says to me don’t cut, at least in my mindset. Oh dear me, what have I gotten myself into?

I have one children’s picture book, that was done by a publisher, fully illustrated. “Itchy Scratchy Spots” However, I didn’t have to worry about the formatting of that book with illustrations because they did all that hard work and presented the samples to me. But this time, with this new illustrated book, I am doing it myself. After all, I am an Indie, the fad today in self publishing. It seems more and more people are going that route. It is out there for the taking and to make use of. So I am taking advantage of it. At least trying to with this new illustrated book idea for young readers.

All I can say is….Wish me luck.

I just finished talking to my daughter on the phone, and when I told her what I was doing, she was just amazed because she hates writing. Giving her the details of what the book is about and what all I had to work on, she said the sweetest thing to me. She said. “Mother, you are a real writer.” Of course I am, because I am for real in what I do. So guess what, I will figure this illustrated book thing out. I am going to nail it! It may take some time, but I am going to do it. I’m in no rush. I have no deadline to meet…not yet. So I am just going to go do my thing……bring this book together because youngsters will want to read it. So,get ready for this new inspiring, educational and illustrated book…..I will give you a hint to what it is about…………….Meow!

Author:

Winona or Mz Nona is an inspiring writer living in Washington DC with her hubby of many years. She enjoys writing so much that she is even a freelance article writer. When she is not busy creating articles, she is busy creating books for the young. Mz Nona has 6 published books out already and a 7th one is in the makings, for she just signed a contract with a publisher. Mz Nona loves to inspire others to write and she does so with her freelance writing and editing business, Dream Writers' Essentials. She not only creates her own manuscripts, she help others fine tune theirs for submission. She is great at giving writing tips and resources. Winona is a bundle of information, for she loves to blog and she is a super fan or Facebook and Twitter.

One thought on “I’ve Been Working……

Leave a Reply

