Posted in All about hair, author blogging

A Little Off My Usual Topic

Young woman sitting with thouhtful expression.

Well, all I can say is, “book blog and more”. Today it is “MORE”. Even though writing is continuously on my mind, today it is further back in the wings so I am not going to talk about it….at least not yet. Why? Because something else is on my mind……MY Hair!
Oh yeah, it is a hot mess. But I am about to remedy that situation. I only hope it works.
Yesterday, I spent quite some time on YouTube, looking at videos on how to care for the African American natural curls. There were so many and all the different products to get the look you want is just mind blowing. What to chose, what to chose? Most are expensive as well; at least the ones I wanted.
I’ve been using different products on my hair since I decided no more chemicals. I am glad I made that choice. My girls are glad too.
Anyway, like so many others, I am becoming a hair product hoarder. I am not sure if that is good or bad, especially since I am not rich. But when you want a certain look and you want your hair to abide by your wishes, you do have to experiment until you are satisfied and your hair is satisfied with the choice.
The video I watched was extremely helpful to me. Before, I would go into a beauty supply store and be guessing over what product I should get and hoped I pick the right thing.
Anyway, when I saw this African American woman’s hair, I said to myself, this is what I want. I want my hair to do that. She demonstrated everything and showed the product that she used. So simple and easy for the get up and go look.
Needless to say, I marched down to the beauty supply store this morning and this time I knew exactly what I was looking for. I picked up everything that was in that video. OH yeah, I made a list of the products that I needed. So today I am going to be “Unleashing my curls” on my mini fro, which by the way is soft but it has no life to it. It’s just there…in a hot mess. As an author, I can’t be walking around here with a dead head. I have to look the part. LOL. I will be back later to let you know how the products worked. I am thinking positive, keeping my fingers crossed that I didn’t just go out and waste some money. Can you feel me? Giggle giggle.

me 1

Author:

Winona or Mz Nona is an inspiring writer living in Washington DC with her hubby of many years. She enjoys writing so much that she is even a freelance article writer. When she is not busy creating articles, she is busy creating books for the young. Mz Nona has 6 published books out already and a 7th one is in the makings, for she just signed a contract with a publisher. Mz Nona loves to inspire others to write and she does so with her freelance writing and editing business, Dream Writers' Essentials. She not only creates her own manuscripts, she help others fine tune theirs for submission. She is great at giving writing tips and resources. Winona is a bundle of information, for she loves to blog and she is a super fan or Facebook and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

