Posted in author blogging, Author's Voice, struttin my stuff, winona rasheed, writing projects

CREATESPACE

book-room

Well, I just put my dinner in the oven, so I have a few minutes to blog for a little bit. Time flies when you are having fun. And when I say fun I am talking about bringing my old books from one place and transferring them to another. With this move, I am hoping that they will get more exposure since I’ve updated everything about them.

I guess you can say I have a new book, rather new books that will be coming out soon. Two done and in the review process and now I have one more to go. I am loving how they look and the changes I made with them, including the titles and covers.

So glad I had my files ready to take over to Createspace. As you can see, I keep everything, though sometimes I have to dig deep to find what I do with things. But none the less, I found all of my files. I am doing a happy dance.
In a little bit, I will have my proof copies so I can see how they really turned out. But so far, so good.

Createspace is so easy to work with when you are publishing your own books. They make publishing fun. I must say, the first time I used them, it was complicated. But I am guessing the more you use it, the better you become at knowing what you are doing. At least that’s how it works with me.

I remember the first time my files came back with errors that needed to be fixed…that drove me nuts trying to fix them. (I didn’t know what I was doing) I bet I had over 20 errors alone in set up. Well, with the last two books that I uploaded with them yesterday and today. I was relieved to see that the files only had 4 errors in one and 5 in another. Best of all, they were easy fixes. So, I am getting the hang of things as an independent author.

Let’s just say that there is nothing wrong with doing it yourself and doing it your way. When you do dive into this experience, you learn a lot and I am all for learning new stuff. So, although I have been published before by the traditional way, I have also self published as I go about getting my books into the hands of children, young adults and the parents of these kids. And you know what, when you see your published book in your hands, you can’t tell the difference between a traditional publisher and a self publisher. And you know what else, both types of books are available on Amazon. I know because a few of my self-published babies are there, right along with the others that bare the name of a publishing house.

You can see there is no difference, no prejudice because both kinds sell if the book is interesting to the buyer. Just like you can get eBook versions as well as print versions from a traditional publisher, you can get the same for your books as a self-publisher. Self publishing is just an easier route to take when you want to by pass all the hoopla and waiting for your manuscript to get seen and then waiting for a response. We are some impatient human beings, now aren’t we? We want everything instantly. Oh well, that’s a different story.

As soon as my 2nd edition books are ready, I will show them off and tell you where you can get a copy. Stay tuned.

Author:

Winona or Mz Nona is an inspiring writer living in Washington DC with her hubby of many years. She enjoys writing so much that she is even a freelance article writer. When she is not busy creating articles, she is busy creating books for the young. Mz Nona has 6 published books out already and a 7th one is in the makings, for she just signed a contract with a publisher. Mz Nona loves to inspire others to write and she does so with her freelance writing and editing business, Dream Writers' Essentials. She not only creates her own manuscripts, she help others fine tune theirs for submission. She is great at giving writing tips and resources. Winona is a bundle of information, for she loves to blog and she is a super fan or Facebook and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

