Posted in Author's Voice

HOW ABOUT THAT?

Say_what

Well, we made it to the last day of January, what a relief! And here in DC, the sun is shining and it feels decent outside. It’s a good day to be out and about, but for me, that’s not going to happen until tomorrow.

I was up early this morning and I just finished typing up pages to chapter 7 of my new book. I think this manuscript now has 70 + pages. Oh I must say, it’s going to be a great read. Am I bragging or boasting….you bet I am. Two more chapters and she will be done.

As I mentioned yesterday when I was trying to post some video here, I’ve been experimenting quite a bit with new apps to use with my course of writing. They have so many things out there. It can get confusing trying to find one that fits with what you do. I still have to figure out a better way of doing this audio/picture promoting…I am thinking I might need a Galaxy tablet or an iPad to really find success in what I am trying to do, because the two tablets I do have are not cutting it.

Anyway, I wanted to tell you about something else I was trying to do, as far as my manuscript is concern. My son who is an electronic genius, was telling me about a program that I can dictate my words and it will type it into my word document. He put this program on my computer yesterday and begged me to try it out. However, I am the type of person once I get use to one way, I tend to stick to it because sometimes, change is not good when it brings difficulties.

Have you heard of “The Dragon?” Well that’s what I have now. To be honest with you, this is something that will take some time to get use to. I will not be using it to finish my new book, regardless of how much typing I have to do. I first had to take a training course, which I was working on late last night. I never did get all the way through the training. The training involved recording my voice so that the program would respond to my voice. I was reading text after text that came with the program, into the microphone. It was suppose to type what I had said. Boy oh boy, the feed back was all messed up. It was even picking up sounds from my husband’s computer. What it typed did not make sense.

And then there is the part where you have to tell it when to add punctuation marks, quotations, paragraphs and so on and so on. You have to say backspace, delete and then choose the right word from a list when a word is spelled wrong and then say “insert”.

It was absolutely crazy and weird just doing that little bit of training to operate the program. I am not that patent. I can’t see myself doing all that when I am working on a manuscript and a deadline is pending. If I was working on my new book using the “Dragon,” I’d still be on page one or two trying to get it together. That would be like trying to type up the manuscript on my little tablet, punching the keyboard with one finger at a time.

I know my son will probably be disappointed, but he should know, his mother is old fashion. I am comfortable doing my work the way I am doing it now. It’s simple, fast and easy my way. Ain’t nothing wrong with typing and doing it yourself.
I know he took me from the typewriter and bought me into the electronic world; (BLESS HIS HEART!) but somethings I will not be satisfied doing, and doing this “Dragon” thing is one of them. Imagine if I was using the “Dragon” to create this blog. I’d still be on the heading. Nope, I can’t learn the dragon in two or three days….that thing looks like it will take at least a year to master……….SAY WHAT!

Author:

Winona or Mz Nona is an inspiring writer living in Washington DC with her hubby of many years. She enjoys writing so much that she is even a freelance article writer. When she is not busy creating articles, she is busy creating books for the young. Mz Nona has 6 published books out already and a 7th one is in the makings, for she just signed a contract with a publisher. Mz Nona loves to inspire others to write and she does so with her freelance writing and editing business, Dream Writers' Essentials. She not only creates her own manuscripts, she help others fine tune theirs for submission. She is great at giving writing tips and resources. Winona is a bundle of information, for she loves to blog and she is a super fan or Facebook and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

